Who We Are

TCNAA Board of Directors Officers

Joyce Delk, ’72, Chairwoman

Cornell Lynch ’08, Vice-Chairman

Ro’chelle Williams ’14, Secretary

Tougaloo College National Association Officers

David Miller, Esq ’72, President

James C. McQuirter ’64, Vice President

Dr. Brigetta K. Turner ’82, Secretary

Brian Harrington ’15, Corresponding Secretary

Carlos D. Smith ’05, Treasurer

Carolyn White, ’79, Business Manager

Tophas Anderson ’71, Parliamentarian

Cassius Rudolph ’14, Chaplain

Carlos Smith ’05, Immediate Past President

H. T. Drake ’50, President Emeritus

Doris Bridgeman ’69, Director of Alumni Affairs

Alumni Representatives to Tougaloo College Board of Trustees

Elane Coleman ’70 (2018 – 2021)

Dr. Brigetta Turner ’82 (2020 – 2023)

Pre-Alumni Council President

Vanetta Brownlow ’21

Regional Representatives

Northeastern Region (2019-2022) – Torrance Brown ’98

Northeastern Region (2018-2021) – Rochelle Williams ’14

Midwestern Region (2019-2022) – John S. Williams ’60

Midwestern Region (2018-2021) – Rose Ramey ’79

Western Region (2019-2022) – Michael Cleveland ’17

Western Region (2018-2021)  – Belinda Wilson ’71

Mid-South Region (2018-2021) – Clifton Jeffrey ’02

Mid-South Region (2019-2022) – Shirley Mass

Southeastern Region (2018-2021) – Preamiller McKinney

Southeastern Region (2019-2022) – Tanya Bartee ’96

At-Large (2019-2022) – Cornell Lynch ’08

At-Large (2018-2021) – Wilbert L. Smith ’57

Chapter Presidents

Atlanta – Sterling Dunkley ’89

Chicago – Willie L. Lewis ’72

Dallas-Fort Worth – Pearlie Magee ’80

Detroit – Herbie Banks ’64

MS Gulf Coast – Gloria Grace ’80

Houston – Emleigh Mitchell ’00

Humphrey County – Pamela Redd ’88

Jackson-Tougaloo – James Smith ’76

Leflore County – Shani K. Collins ’03

Little Rock – Loranda Wordlow ’10

Memphis – Sylvia Gray ’86

Milwaukee – Dorothy Listenbee ’70

Nashville – Ruth M. Byrdsong ’64

New England – Donald Cunnigen ’74

New Orleans – A. Malessia Payton ’76

Greater New York – Courtni Newsome ’04

Northern California – Janice B. Wilson ’71

North Carolina – Dr. Angela Gobar ’76

Ohio – Carolyn A. Walker-Kimbro ’73

Pine Belt Area (Hattiesburg) – Shuntasia Coleman

Southern California – Roy Harris ’61

St. Louis – Jameca Falconer ’96

SW Mississippi – Gayla Carpenter-Sanders ’00

Tougaloo Community – Beverly Williams ’81

Washington County – Willie Richardson ’99

Washington, DC – Kathy Mosley ’72

Yazoo City – Eugene Fouche ’65

TCNAA Committees

Committee Members

Committee Function

Annual Alumni Giving Fund Committee

Roosevelt Turner, Chairperson
Doris Bridgeman
James McQuirter
David Miller
Jerry Nickens
Ranada Robinson
Dr. Nikisha Ware

To plan and implement programs and events for the College annual Giving Fund.

Commencement Steering Committee

Annie Archie

To plan and implement alumni programs and activities for Commencement Weekend

Membership Committee

Cornell Lynch, Chairperson
Joyce Delk
Elane Coleman
Amanda Mims

To plan and implement programs and events that will stimulate TCNAA membership. To Report membership status periodically during the year.

Bylaws Committee

Shirley Byers, Co-chairperson
Elane Coleman, Co-chairperson
Joyce Delk
Tyvester Goss
David Miller
Dr. James Curtis Smith

To review the Association’s by-laws and the Chapter Guide for updates and corrections annually.

Scholarship Committee


To plan and implement the TCNAA Scholarship and Loan Program.

Hall of Fame Committee

Ro’chelle Williams, Chairperson
Doris Bridgeman
Carolyn Evans
Brian Harrington
Kerry Thomas
Camille Wilson
Esther Young

To plan and implement Hall of Fame/Chapter awards activities and programs (See Chapter Guide, Section XIII and Section XV).

Benevolence Committee


 Send resolutions in case of death of TCNAA member or immediate family member. See Chapter Guide Article XVI. Add item E (Resolutions Management)

Nominating & Election Committee

Carlos Smith, Chairperson
Barbara Hilliard
Tiffany Burks
Sterling Dunkley
Ronald Hicks
Emleigh Johnson

To coordinate all TCNAA nomination and election matters.

TAB Committee
Frances Whitehurst, Co-chairperson
Freddi Evans, Co-chairperson
Doris Bridgeman
Joyce Delk
Hosea R. James
David Miller
Natosha Pengarthit
Carolyn Price
Tamala Boyd Shaw
Elane Coleman, Web Editor

To publish the Tougaloo Alumni Bulletin.