Calling for Hall of Fame Nominees

Nominate an outstanding Tougalooian for this distinguished award!

The TCNAA Hall of Fame Induction represents an attempt by the Tougaloo College National Alumni Association to carefully select and publicly acknowledge supportive alumni who have distinguished themselves in their respective professions. This distinguished Alumni award also publicly acknowledges and encourages other outstanding alumni to become supportive of TCNAA and Tougaloo College. The committee will select five individuals each year based on their contribution and/or success in any of the following ten categories, which include:

Athletics, Arts & Entertainment, Business, Communications, Community Service, Education, Government & Law, Medicine, Religion, and Science.


• Should be alumnus of Tougaloo College.
• Accomplishments in his/her field must be documented.
• Contributions to Tougaloo (financially and in-kind services) must be documented.
Consideration will also be given to individuals we want to encourage to become contributors to   TCNAA and Tougaloo College.
• Must be present at the banquet in order to be honored (unless recognized posthumously).   However, under extenuating circumstances as determined by the committee, an award may be   given in absentia.
• Must have fifteen-year span of departure from Tougaloo College.

Please nominate by April 30, 2019
Click on the link below!

If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact at

Addie Hudson ’70 – Chair
Ro’chelle Williams ’14 – Co-Chair

Board of Trustees Name 14th Tougaloo President

The Board of Trustees of Tougaloo College is pleased to announce the selection of Dr. Carmen J. Walters as the the 14th President of this historic institution.

As the college celebrates its Sesquicentennial Anniversary and embraces what lies ahead in the new era of higher education, Dr. Walters brings a depth of executive-level leadership and knowledge in such vital areas as strategic planning in enrollment, facilities management, grant and budget management, workforce development, community and diversity relations and athletics management.

Dr. Walters succeeds Dr. Beverly Wade Hogan, who is retiring June 30. Dr Hogan has served as Tougaloo’s president since May 2002. She is the first woman and the 13th president to lead Tougaloo.

Read more:

TCNAA President's Report - March 2019

Alumni News Brief

The U.S. House of Representatives Democratic Caucus has elected Congressman Bennie G. Thompson to Chair the Committee on Homeland Security for the 116th Congress.

The Committee on Homeland Security was created by the U.S. House of Representatives in 2002 in the aftermath of September 11, 2001. The Committee was first formed as a Select, non-permanent Committee to provide Congressional oversight over the development of the Department of Homeland Security. The Committee was made permanent when it was designated as a Standing Committee of the House on January 4, 2005, the first day of the 109th Congress. As a Standing Committee, the Committee on Homeland Security has broad oversight jurisdiction on all matters related to domestic security.  

For more information about the Committee visit our website or find the Committee on Twitter @HomelandDems.

2017-2018 TCNAA Chapter Award Recipients

Walter Washington Award (highest chapter donations to the College)

Washington Area Tougaloo Alumni Chapter  ($25,100)
Houston Area Tougaloo Alumni Chapter   ($25,000)

Lucille M. Fraser Award (highest percentage TCNAA members, derived from membership forms submitted)

Dallas/Ft. Worth Tougaloo Alumni Chapter (100%)
Detroit Tougaloo Alumni Chapter  (100%)
Houston Tougaloo Alumni Chapter (100%)
Memphis Tougaloo Alumni Chapter (100%)
Chicago Tougaloo Alumni Chapter (99%)

Dr. Naomi Townsend Award (Student Recruitment)

Chicago Tougaloo Alumni Chapter

Announcing the TCNAA Hall of Fame Class of 2018

Ms. Jeannie Coe Flood ’79 – Community Service
Ms. Ethel Jean McLaurin Gibson ’64 – Community Service
President Beverly Wade Hogan ’73 – Education
Dr. Rosie Walker McNair ’81 – Medicine
Ms. Sylvia Burkhead Gray ’86 – Business
Rev. Marvin Love ’70 – Religion

Stay Connected

Tougaloo Alum Group

Make a Donation to TCNAA