House Speaker Nancy Pelosi Taps Tougaloo Alum Representative Bennie Thompson to Chair Select Committee to Investigate the January 6 Attack on the Capitol


Frances Whiteurst

At press time, the TAB editorial staff learned that Tougaloo College alumnus Representative Bennie Thompson has been named by House Speaker Nancy Pelosi to chair the investigation of the January 6 insurrection on the Capitol. According to NBC News, Rep. Thompson negotiated a bill that would have established a bipartisan commission to investigate the riot, but the measure was ultimately blocked by Senate Republicans in June.
NBC reports that other members of the House select committee include, Reps. Adam Schiff, D-Calif, Zoe Lofgren, D-Calif., Pete Aguilar, D-Calif., Stephanie Murphy, D-Fla., Jamie Raskin, D-Md., and Elaine Luria, D-Va., and one lone Republican, Rep. Liz Chaney.

In a statement to NBC News, Rep. Thompson said the committee is “determined to assemble a comprehensive, authoritative report on events constituting the January 6th insurrection.” He told NBC that the panel will begin by hearing testimony from Capitol Police officers about their experience that day.

NBC reported that Pelosi’s announcement comes nearly seven months after the attack, in which hundreds of former President Donald Trump’s supporters stormed the Capitol in an effort to interrupt the counting of electoral votes solidifying Joe Biden’s victory. The speaker aimed to establish a 9/11 commission-style panel, which Thompson had negotiated, but that proposal failed in the Senate as Republicans repeatedly argued that there are already ongoing investigations into Jan. 6.

NBC reported that the speaker introduced her appointments at her weekly news conference Thursday, July 1, 2021 and said the panel’s goal is to assess former Trump’s role in inciting his supporters and “to seek and to find the truth” about why they tried to interrupt the peaceful transfer of power.

“We want to do so in the most patriotic, non-partisan way,” Pelosi said.

Source: NBC News – By Rebecca Shabad, Teaganne Finn, Garrett Haake and Haley Talbot