The WATAC Report - October 2020

Kathy Mosley ‘72, President

At the intersection of social justice, unconditional love and committed dedication emerges leadership. Leadership has long been the hallmark of the Washington Area Tougaloo Alumni Chapter (WATAC). So, it is with deep appreciation to the WATAC ancestors* and to the Tougaloo College National Alumni Association that we receive the 2020 acknowledgements of:

  • The H.M. Thompson Award
  • The Corneal Davis Award and
  • The Walter Washington Award

We also want to acknowledge the first-time award of the Beyond the Call of Duty Award given to WATAC Corresponding Secretary, John Page for his unwavering service to the Tougaloo Nation. Truer words were never spoken…beyond the call of duty!

Our leadership continues to shine most recently with the stellar first-time virtual 2020 Hall of Fame Event chaired by Ro’chelle Williams. Several WATAC members hold active participation on the TCNAA’s Board of Directors: Cornell Lynch (Vice-President); Torrance Brown (Regional Representative); Ro’chelle Williams (Secretary); and Kathy Mosley (Chapter President). Attorney Shirlethia Franklin previously served as TCNAA’s Alumni Representative to the college’s Board of Trustees and has been recently appointed to serve on the college’s Board of Trustees. Torrance Brown, the Northeast Regional Representative, is currently developing a strategic plan to support the chapters of the Northeast region. WATAC has agreed to be the pilot chapter. Initially, a survey will be distributed to collect data providing a baseline for future protocols.

During the month of July, WATAC partnered with the Memphis Area Tougaloo Alumni Chapter (MATAC) for the last in the series of COVID-19 discussions, The Economic Impact of COVID-19, moderated by Dr. LaTonya Washington. Panelists were MATAC members Alfred Applewhite (Finance), Princess Cry Parker (Real Estate) and WATAC members Gregory Johnson (Business) and Dr. Terralon Knight (Medical).

Our signature fundraiser, Mississippi On the Potomac (MOTP), morphed into “MOTP Forever” allowing us to re-focus our attention from social gatherings to a re-branding of social responsibility. With a goal of $28,000, we have now raised $7,800 to date. We don’t want to stop the spirit and have extended our deadline to December 20, 2020. Visit our website at

Your giving allows us to be able to contribute to the Tougaloo College General Scholarship Fund and to the WATAC Scholars. The 2020-2021 WATAC Scholars are:

Enleyona Weir, Senior
Jamie Bozeman, Junior
Tyra Franklin, Senior
Nakayah Hill, Sophomore
Alliah Johnson, Sophomore
Andre Chambers, Sophomore
Andria Turner, Freshman

Patricia Cole, WATAC Vice-President is the Chair of the WATAC Scholarship Committee.

The WATAC Media Team has catapulted the chapter into the “au current ” with the establishment of the WATAC Facebook, Twitter and Instagram pages to support marketing and recruitment efforts for WATAC and Tougaloo College. Protocols have been established with a request form. Margie Collins is Chair of the Social Media Committee.

WATAC members excel not only in the “Tougaloo Nation” bubble, but in the national and international arena. In this season, the spotlight is on:

Torrance Brown, Ph.D…Selected as Branch Chief of Policy Division Evaluation Branch within the Office of the Asst. Secretary for Preparedness and Response at the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Chazeman Jackson, Ph.D…Joined the Society of Human Genetics as its first Senior Director Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

Shirlethia Franklin, Esq….Jones Day Partner, named to 2020 Edition of the Washington Business Journal’s 40 Under 40

Gregory Johnson, Esq….Named Director of Place-Based Innovation, U.S. Equity and Economic Opportunity  Initiative, Rockefeller Foundation

Trey Baker, Esq….(continued WATAC in Spirit)…Director for African American Engagement, Joe Biden for President Campaign

It is with a grateful, humble, energetic and dedicated heart that we continue to serve Tougaloo College.

WATAC, TCNAA and Tougaloo College Forever!

WATAC Ancestors*
Johnnie Eugenia Hamilton
Frank Blalock
Czerny Neal
Renett Neal
Henrienne Topps Martin
Ethelyne Topps Lewis
Ernest Braddock
Rita Braddock
Jesse Leonard
George Nauflett
Birdia Bush
Maude Lewis